Seventh Conference on Natural Language Learning

CoNLL is the yearly meeting organized by SIGNLL, the Association for Computational Linguistics Special Interest Group on Natural Language Learning. Previous CoNLL meetings were held in Madrid (1997), Sydney (1998), Bergen (1999) Lisbon (2000), Toulouse (2001) and Taipei (2002).

The 2003 event will be held as a two-day workshop at the HLT-NAACL 2003, May 31 - June 1, 2003 in Edmonton, Canada. This will be the first time that CoNLL will take place in North America.


Saturday, May 31, 2003
9:00-9:15 Opening Remarks (Walter Daelemans and Miles Osborne)
Session 1: Parsing
9:15-9:40 A model of syntactic disambiguation based on lexicalized grammars
Yusuke Miyao  and Jun`ichi Tsujii
9:40-10:05 An SVM-based voting algorithm with application to parse reranking
Libin Shen and Aravind K. Joshi
10:05-10:30 Active learning for HPSG parse selection
Jason Baldridge and Miles Osborne
10:30-11:00 BREAK
Session 2: Bootstrapping (1)
11:00-11:30 Learning subjective nouns using extraction pattern bootstrapping
Ellen Riloff, Janyce Wiebe and Theresa Wilson
11:30-12:00 Unsupervised Personal Name Disambiguation
Gideon Mann and David Yarowsky
12:00-12:30 Unsupervised learning of word sense disambiguation rules by estimating an optimum iteration number in the EM algorithm
Hiroyuki Shinnou and Minoru Sasaki
12:30-14:00 LUNCH
Session 3: Bootstrapping (2)
14:00-15:00 Invited Talk: Understanding the Yarowsky algorithm
Steve Abney
15:00-15:30 Bootstrapping POS-taggers using unlabelled data
Stephen Clark, James Curran and Miles Osborne
15:30-16:00 BREAK
Session 4: Generic problems
16:00-16:30 Updating an NLP system to fit new domains: an empirical study on the sentence segmentation problem
Tong Zhang, Fred Damerau and David Johnson
16:30-17:00 Exceptionality and Natural Language Learning
Mihai Rotaru and Diane J. Litman
17:00-17:30 SIGNLL Business Meeting
Sunday, June 1, 2003
Session 5: Semantics
9:00-9:30 Semi-supervised Verb Class Discovery Using Noisy Features
Suzanne Stevenson and Eric Joanis
9:30-10:00 Preposition Semantic Classification via Treebank and FrameNet
Tom O'Hara and Janyce Wiebe
10:00-10:30 Phrasenet: towards context sensitive lexical semantics
Xin Li, Dan Roth and Yuancheng Tu
10:30-11:00 BREAK
Session 6: Machine translation
11:00-11:30 Confidence estimation for translation prediction
Simona Gandrabur and George Foster
11:30-12:00 Using `smart' bilingual projection to feature-tag a monolingual dictionary
Katharina Probst
12:00-12:30 Using LSA and Noun Coordination Information to Improve the Recall and Precision of Automatic Hyponymy Extraction
Scott Cederberg and Dominic Widdows
12:30-14:00 LUNCH
Session 7: Clustering
14:00-14:30 An efficient clustering algorithm for class-based language models
Takuya Matsuzaki, Yusuke Miyao and Jun'ichi Tsujii
14:30-15:00 Using Unlabeled Data via the EM algorithm for Semantic Disambiguation by Local Context Features
Yoshimasa Tsuruoka and Jun'ichi Tsujii
15:00-15:30 Identifying Events using Similarity and Context
Dominic Jones and Cynthia Thompson
15:30-15:45 BREAK (note: shorter time)
Session 8: Shared Task: Language-Independent Named Entity Recognition
15:45-16:00 Introduction to CoNLL-2003 Shared Task: Language-Independent Named Entity Recognition
Erik Tjong Kim Sang and Fien De Meulder
16:00-17:00 Systems Presentations
17:00-17:30 Summary and discussion
Erik Tjong Kim Sang and Fien De Meulder

Invited Speaker

Steve Abney (Department of Linguistics, University of Michigan, MI, USA).

Understanding the Yarowsky Algorithm

Program Committee

Thorsten Brants <>, Google Inc. (USA)
Claire Cardie <>, Cornell University (USA)
James Cussens <>, University of York (UK)
Walter Daelemans <>, University of Antwerp (Belgium)
Ido Dagan <>, Bar Ilan University / LingoMotors (Israel)
Diane Litman <>, University of Pittsburgh (USA)
Rada Mihalcea <>, University of North Texas (USA)
Yuji Matsumoto <>, Nara Institute of Science and Technology (Japan)
Raymond Mooney <>, University of Texas at Austin (USA)
John Nerbonne <>, University of Groningen (Netherlands)
Hwee Tou Ng <>, National University of Singapore (Singapore)
Grace Ngai <>, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (Hong Kong)
Miles Osborne <>, University of Edinburgh (UK)
David Powers <>, Flinders University (Australia)
Adwait Ratnaparkhi <>, Microsoft (USA)
Ellen Riloff <>, University of Utah (USA)
Dan Roth <>, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (USA)
Erik Tjong Kim Sang <>, University of Antwerp (Belgium)
Antal van den Bosch <>, Tilburg University (Netherlands)

Last update: April 25, 2003., CoNLL-2003